Phone: (602) 307-0070

Fax: (602) 307-0080



Phoenix, AZ – Nathan Laufer, MD became the 124th President of the Arizona Medical Association (ArMA) on May 29, 2015 at the association’s annual meeting in Phoenix. Dr. Laufer will serve a one-year term in that capacity.

Laufer-webDr. Laufer received his undergraduate and Medical Degree from McGill University in Montreal, Canada. He completed his Internal Medicine residency at the University of Toronto and a cardiology fellowship at the University of Michigan, whose faculty he then joined. Dr. Laufer is Board Certified in internal medicine, cardiology and interventional cardiology and has been in practice since 1984.

Dr. Laufer is an active member of organized medicine and the Arizona Community. He has served ArMA previously as president-elect. In the Arizona community, Dr. Laufer is a past president of the Maricopa County Medical Society and President and Founder of the Cardiovascular Society of Arizona. He is a board member (past president) of the Arizona Affiliate of the American Heart Association.


Dr. Laufer is the founder and medical director of the Heart & Vascular Center of Arizona in Phoenix, where he practices in Consultative Cardiology, Coronary and Peripheral Catheterization, Interventional Cardiology with expertise in Coronary, Peripheral and Carotid Intervention, and Pacemaker Implantation. He has been an integral part of cardiovascular research and development since 1984.

In his role as ArMA president, Dr. Laufer will be responsible for leadership of the ArMA Board of Directors and members, for organizational support and representation, and for communication with the membership of the organization through the quarterly AZMedicine magazine.

the following officers were also elected to serve one-year terms: president-elect – Gretchen Alexander, MD, Phoenix; vice-president – Michael Hamant, MD Tucson; and at-large members, Jacqueline Chadwick MD, Phoenix; Jennifer Hartmark0-Hill, MD, Phoenix;and Mriam Anand, MD, Phoenix; treasurer – Ronnie Dowling, MD, Show-Low; AMA Delegation Chair – Immediate Past President Jeffrey Mueller, MD Phoenix; and Outgoing Past President Thomas Rothe, MD, Tucson.

ArMA has been promoting and providing leadership in the field of medicine for more than a century. For more information, visit